Valentine’s Embroidery

So, I as usual, I was late to the game in making a valentine for my sweetheart. But then Saturday afternoon, I saw Jennie’s free pattern for her cupid card.

Cupid Bookmark

Unfortunately, I didn’t have card-sized cardstock. What I did have, though, were cardstock bookmarks, which ironically enough, I had purchased a pack of to make bookmarks for Valentine’s Day two years ago.

Instead of printing it out full-sized, I printed the pattern out at 1/4th the size, which was exactly right for fitting it on the bookmark. I held it up to the window to mark the dots out on the rougher side of the cardstock, and then pushed a pin through just enough to leave an indent on the other side. I then flipped it over and pushed through all the way through with the needle I was embroidering with.

I used three strands of embroidery thread (the usual six wouldn’t pull through the card), and tried to make the back side nice and neat since it would be very visible. Then I signed the back and put it in the book he was reading, left to be found.

The whole project took me about half an hour, which was good because I was running out of time before the mister showed up.

He says he likes it a lot, and now I’m inspired to make more bookmarks with different things embroidered on them.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Valentine’s Embroidery

  1. Mina says:

    This was such a great idea! And it is gorgeous, I like your embroidery touch, congratulations, quick and beautiful idea!

Leave a Reply

