Sewing reusable produce bags?

Not much going on the craft front over here; I am mired in the time-suck that is video editing, creating a photo slideshow for my grandma’s 80th birthday party on Saturday (her birthday is today).

I’ve been working on the shawl in spurts on breaks from the video. I’ll be glad to be done. While my Macbook makes creating them relatively easy, I don’t particularly enjoy it. Especially the part where I’ll have seen the video about 50 times before I’m done.

I have been keeping up on my feeds though, and today ran across an Apartment Therapy post that spotlighted reusable produce/bulk food bags from Bite.

While I think they are a great idea, as a crafter, I can’t help but to think I could make them myself for much less (it’s $5 a bag). It doesn’t help that the upper fabric in the picture is a fabric I saw at JoAnn’s last time I was there.

I suppose my first question to making this would be, where can I find a very fine mesh fabric? The second would be, what type of seam would I use to make them look clean and crisp?

I have been thinking about reusable bags quite a bit. I make lunch for the Mister every day, and we buy his lunch “snacks” in bulk, and self portion. This leads to using lots of Ziploc bags every week, especially if he gets more than one bulk item in his lunch (i.e. Cheeze-its and Teddygrahams). I don’t want the food to go stale after I portion it, but I also want it to fit in his lunch bag. Another container is out of the question, as his sandwich container takes up most of the bag already.

So, what I need to find is probably impossible. Something that functions like a Ziploc bag, but is easily washed for cleanup and reuse.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Sewing reusable produce bags?

  1. Holly says:

    Thanks for linking to my Robot memory game! I’ve been enjoying exploring your blog! I’ve never made those mesh bags but have had the same thought about making them … I think you could do french seams, basically sewing a narrow seam with the fabric wrong sides together, and then a wider seam right sides together (there are lots of tutorials out there). That encloses the raw/frayed edges.

Leave a Reply

